Inside the box score: INDYCAR Grand Prix


Numbers to note following the INDYCAR Grand Prix at the 2.439-mile Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, the fifth race of the 2017 Verizon Indy Car Series season:

5 – Different winners in as many Verizon IndyCar Series races in 2017.

6 – Consecutive top-five finishes for Simon Pagenaud, dating to Sonoma Raceway in 2016.

10 – Points separating Pagenaud from Scott Dixon in the Verizon IndyCar Series standings after the INDYCAR Grand Prix.

11  Consecutive seasons in which Will Power has won at least one Indy car race.

14 – Positions gained by Graham Rahal, most of any driver in the INDYCAR Grand Prix.

15 – Laps in which Rahal improved his position, most of any driver … Wins from pole position by Power. Half of Power’s career wins have come after he won the pole position.

30 – Indy car wins for Power, which broke a tie with Rick Mears and Helio Castroneves for 11th on the all-time list.

35 – Total positions gained by Pagenaud in 2017.

47 – Indy car poles for Power, who is fifth on the all-time list.

212 – Consecutive starts by Dixon, the second-longest streak in Indy car history.

270 – Consecutive starts by Tony Kanaan, extending his all-time record.

332 – Indy car starts for Castroneves which is third on the all-time list. Kanaan is fourth with his 331 starts.

From the fans