Firestone Race Notes: INDYCAR Harvest GP

Updated: 

Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Race 1: Friday, October 2 3:30 p.m. ET / 12:30 p.m. PT on USA Network

Race 2: Saturday, October 3 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT on NBC

TIRE TRACKER: INDYCAR HARVEST GP
Firestone is supplying more than 2,100 race tires for the INDYCAR Harvest GP doubleheader. Each entry receives the following allocation of Firestone Firehawk race tires:

·       Primary: 9 sets per entry*

·       Alternate: 5 sets per entry

·       Rain: 7 sets per entry

*Does not include rookie set

 



ENGINEER’S INSIGHT:
“With temperatures at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course expected to be nearly 20 degrees lower than when we raced there earlier this year, NTT INDYCAR SERIES drivers can expect a very different track when we return for the new INDYCAR Harvest GP. Firestone Racing is bringing the same race-proven primary and alternate race tire designs that were used for the GMR Grand Prix in the summer heat, but the crisp autumn air and cooler track temperatures anticipated this weekend will result in more grip and less tire degradation compared to the July event.”

- Cara Adams, Director of Race Tire Engineering and Production, Bridgestone Americas Motorsports


FIRESTONE FAST FACT
Firestone Racing considers a variety of factors in designing tires for each NTT INDYCAR SERIES event, including weather. Track temperature can impact how race tires grip the surface and the speed cars can travel, which is why Firestone Firehawk race tires are made to accommodate temperature swings of 50 degrees or more at a specific circuit. That consideration allows the same race tire design from July’s GMR Grand Prix at IMS to be used in the cooler temperatures expected on the same track at the new INDYCAR Harvest GP.

FIRESTONE PIT STOP PERFORMANCE AWARD

 


QUESTIONS?
Contact: Rachel Potee
Email: poteerachel@bfusa.com

Follow @FirestoneRacing on Twitter and Instagram!

From the fans