Indy 500 Prep Shifts into Overdrive This Week at Open Test

  • Racing News
Linus Lundqvist

The march to the 108th Indianapolis 500 presented by Gainbridge begins this week at Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with 34 car-and-driver combinations, including eight former “500” winners and 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson, scheduled to participate in an Open Test on Wednesday and Thursday.

The participants are headlined by four-time “500” champion Helio Castroneves, who will make his third attempt at a record-setting fifth win when the green flag drops Sunday, May 26. Takuma Sato is another multiple Indy winner, and he will be back with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, the team he earned the second of his two “500” wins with in 2020. Sato’s first win came in 2017 with Andretti Global. Castroneves won in 2001, 2002 and 2009 with Team Penske and in 2021 with Meyer Shank Racing, his current team.

Defending champion Josef Newgarden of Team Penske heads the list of single-time “500” winners.” His teammate, Will Power, who won the race in 2018, will join him along with Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon (2008), Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Arrow McLaren’s Alexander Rossi (2016) and Andretti Global’s Marcus Ericsson (2022).

Larson is one of the most versatile and decorated drivers in North American motorsports, and he will be in pursuit of his first “500.” Larson will drive a Hendrick Motorsports-backed entry from Arrow McLaren, as he will try to complete the May 26 “double” of the Indy 500 and Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. He also plans to compete in the 2025 race with the team.

Larson will be one of the seven rookies in this year’s field, but he passed the required Rookie Orientation Program last fall. Chip Ganassi Racing rookies Linus Lundqvist and Marcus Armstrong along with Meyer Shank Racing’s Tom Blomqvist also earlier passed their introductory sessions.

Those who have yet to go through Rookie Orientation – Chip Ganassi Racing’s Kyffin Simpson, Dale Coyne Racing’s Nolan Siegel and Ed Carpenter Racing’s Christian Rasmussen – will have two hours to do so beginning at 11 a.m. ET Wednesday.

Veteran drivers who are required to do refresher sessions -- also at 11 a.m. -- include Andretti Global’s Marco Andretti, Dale Coyne Racing’s Katherine Legge and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing’s Pietro Fittipaldi. This will be the second time the latest generation of Andretti, Rahal and Fittipaldi drivers have competed together in the “500” as Pietro Fittipaldi was a 2021 participant. Marco Andretti is competing for the 19th time; Graham Rahal has made 16 starts.

Sixteen drivers will compete in the “500” for a different team than a year ago. Callum Ilott will drive in Arrow McLaren’s No. 6 car in place of the injured David Malukas.

Wednesday’s schedule begins with installation laps at 9 a.m. Veteran drivers and those who have passed their Rookie Orientation Program and do not need a refresher can test between 9:05 a.m. and 11 a.m. All qualified drivers can use the 2.5-mile oval from 1-6:30 p.m.

Additionally, the track will be available Thursday from 10 a.m.-4 p.m., weather permitting.

U.S. residents can view live coverage on Peacock. INDYCAR LIVE will be available for international viewers.

Due to the ongoing renovation at the IMS Museum, the Southeast Vista and the Southeast Vista Grandstands will be open, as well as the Turn 2 viewing mounds, for free public viewing. Guests with an ADA parking placard can park in the museum’s front lot and sit in South Terrace East. All other guests can park in Turn 2 and 3P Lots and enter through Gate 3. Concessions and Official Trackside Merchandise will be available for purchase.

Open Test Participants:

AJ Foyt Racing: Santino Ferrucci, Sting Ray Robb

Andretti Global: Marco Andretti, Marcus Ericsson (W), Colton Herta, Kyle Kirkwood

Arrow McLaren: Callum Ilott, Kyle Larson (R), Pato O’Ward, Alexander Rossi (W)

Chip Ganassi Racing: Marcus Armstrong (R), Scott Dixon (W), Linus Lundqvist (R), Alex Palou, Kyffin Simpson (R)

Dale Coyne Racing: Nolan Siegel (R), Katherine Legge

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing/Cusick Motorsports: Conor Daly, Ryan Hunter-Reay (W)

Ed Carpenter Racing: Ed Carpenter, Christian Rasmussen (R), Rinus VeeKay

Juncos Hollinger Racing: Agustin Canapino, Romain Grosjean

Meyer Shank Racing: Tom Blomqvist (R), Helio Castroneves (W), Felix Rosenqvist

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing: Pietro Fittipaldi, Christian Lundgaard, Graham Rahal, Takuma Sato (W)

Team Penske: Scott McLaughlin, Josef Newgarden (W), Will Power (W)

(R) – Rookie, (W) – Winner